Skip to content

WELCOME TO TUTANKHAMUN'S TOMB

From 29th September 2022 to 24th April 2023, the exhibition "Tutankhamun. Discovering the Forgotten Pharaoh" recounts one of the greatest archaeological adventures ever, Howard Carter's, which led to the discovery of the tomb of the cursed young Pharaoh. Come and discover the many treasures from the Pharaonic period and unravel the mysteries around Tutankhamun's death and tomb! Alongside the many pieces crafted in Egypt by the Supreme Council of Antiquities Replica Production Unit, the different reconstructions offer an exceptional moment of magic. From the products used for the wall paintings to the mould on the walls of the tomb, to the writing processes used in Egypt 33 centuries ago, no detail has been overlooked!

THE DISCOVERY OF TUTANKHAMUN, THE FORGOTTEN PHARAOH

"Can you see anything?"
"Yes, wonderful things."

Howard Carter & Lord Carnarvon, 26th November 1922

 

A historical adventure...

In 1922, exactly 100 years ago, an extraordinary discovery was made in the Valley of the Kings, the Egyptian region famous for its many tombs of Pharaohs, nobles and royal families. On November 26th, the British archaeologist Howard Carter and his billionaire sponsor Lord Carnarvon entered, for the first time in 3200 years, Tutankhamun’s tomb, found intact. A marvellous treasure was revealed! 

...Full of magic...

A century later, it is your turn to enter the most famous tomb in the world as it was discovered and see exactly what Howard Carter admired so much. The three funeral chambers have been reconstructed using ancient techniques with an unprecedented level of precision and accuracy.

...With a multitude of artefacts...

Exceptional pieces: 242 objects coming from the Egyptian Museum in Cairo’s workshops and authenticated by the Ministry of Egyptian Antiquities. A multitude of priceless objects which will take you back in time to (re)discover Egypt at the time of the Pharaohs.

An exhibition presented by

 

 

Tempora is a major actor in the world of designing, producing, promoting and managing exhibitions and cultural facilities

en_GBEN

Aller au contenu

BIENVENUE DANS LE TOMBEAU DE TOUTANKHAMON

Du 29/09/2022 au 24/04/2023 à Lyon, l’exposition « Toutankhamon. À la découverte du Pharaon oublié » retrace l’une des plus grandes explorations archéologiques de l’Histoire menée par Howard Carter, celle qui a permis la découverte du tombeau du jeune pharaon au destin tragique. Venez découvrir des trésors de l’Egypte pharaonique et percer à jour les mystères qui entourent la mort de Toutankhamon et sa tombe ! Avec de nombreuses pièces créées en Egypte par la Supreme Council of Antiquities Replica Production Unit, les différentes reconstitutions vous offriront un moment de magie exceptionnelle. Des produits utilisés pour les peintures murales jusqu’aux moisissures constellant les murs de la tombe en passant par les procédés d’écriture utilisés en Egypte il y a 33 siècles, aucun détail n’a été négligé !

À LA DÉCOUVERTE DE TOUTANKHAMON, LE PHARAON OUBLIÉ

« – Voyez-vous quelque chose ?
– Oui… des merveilles ! »

Howard Carter & Lord Carnarvon, 26 novembre 1922

 

Une aventure historique…

En 1922, il y a exactement 100 ans, une découverte extraordinaire est faite dans la Vallée des Rois, région égyptienne connue pour abriter de nombreuses tombes de pharaons, de nobles et de familles royales. Le 26 novembre, l’archéologue britannique Howard Carter et son mécène milliardaire Lord Carnarvon pénètrent, pour la première fois depuis 3200 ans, dans le tombeau de Toutankhamon, retrouvé intact. Un trésor fabuleux est dévoilé ! 

De la magie…

Un siècle plus tard, vous allez à votre tour pénétrer à l’intérieur du plus célèbre tombeau du monde tel qu’il a été découvert et voir exactement ce que Howard Carter a tant admiré. Les trois chambres funéraires ont été reconstituées avec les techniques de l’époque, avec un niveau de précision et de fiabilité historique jamais atteint.

Une multitude d’artéfacts…

Des pièces d’exception : 242 objets issus des ateliers du Musée du Caire et authentifiés par le Ministère des Antiquités Egyptiennes. Tout autant d’objets inestimables qui vous feront remonter le temps et (re)découvrir l’Egypte du temps des Pharaons.

Une exposition présentée par

 

 

Tempora est un acteur majeur dans le monde de la conception, réalisation, promotion et gestion d’expositions et d’équipements culturels

fr_FRFR